Coffee Makes Everything All Better

December 31, 2009 at 4:18 pm (A New Career, Job Satisfaction) (, , , , )


I try not to drink too much coffee.  I work late and early shifts a lot so it is easy to want to grab a cup and it is easy for me to get addicted again.  I have an addictive personality and so many times I become dependent on coffee even after I get to a point where the thought of drinking it makes me feel sick.

But it really does make everything better!  I have a couple of sips and I think that life really isn’t so bad!  If only I could convince Josh that this kind of self-medicating isn’t so bad.  🙂

Yesterday I went to Starbucks.  These are special trips reserved for something special, like a day I am going to work a really, really long overnight shift or it’s my day off and I’m running errands or it’s cold outside or I just need a pick-me-up.  No, really.  Coffee shop coffee really is reserved to once-in-a-great-while.  And I usually go to Starbucks because (aside from I know how the coffee is SUPPOSED to taste and can have it done right if it isn’t) last Christmas got me a $100 gift certificate (for $80 from Costco).  He knows I don’t like to spend that much for our gifts, but how could I refuse?!  And yes, I AM still using that same gift card.  I have enough on it for one more drink.

Anyways, yesterday I went to Starbucks.  Everytime I am there, it doesn’t matter which one, every time I am there I want to jump behind the counter and make my own drink.  They are so darned slow!  There are usually 4 or 5 or more behind the counter and they can’t keep up with 5 drinks!  Once I was the only person in the store and there was one car in the drive through and it took me 10 minutes to get my frapp.  And then it didn’t even taste right.

It makes me think back to my days behind the bar.  Aside from weekends and holidays there were only ever 2 of us behind the bar.  AND there were points in the day where there was only one.  And I got so good at my job that I could handle 5 customers all by myself.  I mean the whole transaction, from ordering to paying to making the drink.  When I was training green beans and the poor bloke at the machine had a line of cups that would no longer fit on top I would jump in and steam milk and start drinks while handling customers at the till.  And when I was behind the bar and I saw a regular in the queue I would start there drink and have it ready before they even ordered and without backing up the drinks that were already ordered. 

And it wasn’t just that I was fast.  I was GOOD!  Customers liked it when I was behind the bar because my drinks were reliable.  When I told one of my customers that I was leaving she exclaimed in her Scottish brogue, “Oh, no!  Where am I going to go?  You make the best cappuccino!”  And even though I was only a supervisor, I felt more like a manager because I ran a lot of the workings of the store.  I was respected by those I supervised.  They enjoyed working for me.  They even told me that I should open up a deep-dish pizza shop and they would all come work for me.  I really enjoyed knowing my job inside and out and having the capability to be excellent in what I do.  I knew how to be diplomatic with the customers, too.  Even with blood boiling I could handle a problem with a smile on my face.  This is probably where I learned how to insult someone without them even realising it.  I never satisfied a customer at the expense of one of my teammates, though.

Since then I have not felt that way and I think it really affects my job satisfaction.  I know I have done good work in my recent jobs, but because there is so much regulation, too many to really learn, especially when the state really isn’t that clear on regs, and because we have so many people to answer to, each one of them having their own ideas about how things should be done, I don’t feel like I will ever know my job inside and out and be the best in my field.  I just hope that the new line of work I go into will be different and that I can excel, not just get the job done, but be really good at what I do.

1 Comment

  1. Kacie said,

    I felt that way about catering. A total grasp on what I was to do and an ability to execute well. I love that feeling.

Leave a Reply

