get on with it

January 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


I’m at work right now. All the girls are sleeping. It is so peaceful in the house. I turned of the TV and started on some geometry.

Last week was rough. The midnights really mess with my brain. I felt lower than I have in a long time.

My schedule changed twice. Both times taking away a day off. I am still only working 40 hours, but they are spread out over more days. Even though some of the days are pretty short, I prefer to have an entire day off without thinking of work. I need the time to recover. So now over the course of 5 weeks I will have a total of 4 days off. It’s hard for me to work like that. I would almost rather be working overtime because then at least I would get paid more for the effort.

Last week I was determined to find something positive about each day when I felt down about work. On Saturday when we were on our way to get ice cream with Stevie I started focusing on how my 2 days off were coming to an end and I had 4 midnights in a row coming up. Then I pulled myself back and focused on the joy of the moment. It was good. It worked.

It was not so easy this week.

4 Comments

  1. Kacie said,

    I appreciated your comment about friendships/loneliness. Now that you’ve moved and lost that promising small group, have you found a new church? Is there a group there that you could be a part of? I think finding a “group” of some sort somewhere is so crucial… the finding part can take so much longer than you wish, though!

  2. Kacie said,

    Oh by the way, what did you think of A Fine Balance? It had me riveted, but it was also quite disturbing! I so wanted it to end well and was so depressed at the end.

  3. Kacie said,

    I’m taking over your comment section. 🙂

    I do believe they get food stamps, which is hugely relieving! I need to double check about that, though, because it’s easy for them to not understand the letters and forms that they receive to renew the food stamps every month. They are with a refugee program, in fact in order to come into the country they have to have a refugee organization agree to host them. They give them some basic culture intro and language courses, find them an apartment and a job (if they’re viable for a job) and then pay for their first three months here. After that, though, they’re mostly on their own.

    The goal for me and for other people working with refugees is to find ways to help them in a way that is enabling their long-term sustainability instead of just getting them through the month financially. It’s a tough balance, but seeing some established communities of refugees that have been here 10 years and still look for hand-outs motivates me to make sure I’m not just giving charity.

  4. Kacie said,

    Yeah, we are working on getting him into a church run program that helps refine English, puts him in a small group with other refugees working towards a community college degree in ESL, and preps him for the American school culture and expectations. From there we hope to help him get into the community college that works specifically with refugees (LOVE that they do that). From there, his options for a career should open up, and I think we can help him get that far financially!

    I don’t think his accent is good enough for a translator position now… but maybe by then?

Leave a Reply

