A Visit To A Church

March 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm (Visiting Church) (, )


When I arrived at my client’s apartment she informed me that she wanted to go to the evening service at her church.  I worked with her last Sunday.  I knew she went to church in the morning, but I didn’t know she liked to go in the evening.  I looked down at myself.  I was dressed in jeans which I had been outgrowing and a loose fitting button down top with a shabby sweater.  I was dressed to stay in for the night.  I knew which church she went to very well.  Not that I had ever visited, but I spent some of my early years in a similar tradition and my parents had friends in this tradition.  I remember being told to change into a skirt because one of these friends was coming over and they did not want to offend him.

My first thought was, “Oh, gosh.  I’m not even wearing dress pants, let alone a DRESS!”  Then I thought, “Well, we’ll see how they treat me.”  All they would know is that I am staff.  I was required to be there for work.

This church is a fairly large church.  I already knew that, but when I walked into the church I thought, “Where do all these people come from?  I mean, why do so many people CHOOSE to go here?”  It is a fundamentalist baptist church.  Very strong in their beliefs, I will give them that.  But I think it is safe to say that most of the time they do not actually think about WHY they believe what they do.

We walked through the church to find a place to sit.  I with my head held high looked people directly in the eye.  Or tried to.  If someone accidentally glanced in my direction I smiled, but they looked away.  At least the kids smiled at me.

When we were singing I was thinking about how it probably blew someone’s mind away to see a sinner like me wearingn jeans and lacking puffy bangs to be singing hymns.

The pastor began with the verse (not passage, just the verse) in Philippians that goes: He humbled Himself and made Himself obedient to death, even the death of the cross.  He pulled one word from this verse: obedience.  He chose to use this verse to talk about obedience.  The obedience of children to their parents, wife to her husband, husband to God.  When he began this I moaned from within and thought that there were so many more profound and deeply spiritual things he could have drawn out from this passage. 

He proceeded to jump around from verse to verse all over the Bible pulling out little phrases that worked for his message, screaming out a word or two hear and there just to make sure you are awake.

About 20 minutes into the sermon the pastor stopped and shouted out, “Will you stop looking over there?!  John is sick, but HE IS SAVED!  He has a heart problem and he got saved!  He was supposed to die one year later but he is still alive after 8 years!  You all need to stop looking over there and listen to this sermon!  You NEED to HEAR THIS SERMON!  You are RUINING your time in CHURCH TODAY!”  I had no idea what was going on.  I thought the pastor was the one ruining things.  All I could guess was that someone with a heart condition must have had to call an ambulance and people were concerned about what was going on outside the windows.  It ticked me off that the pastor was more concerned about his sermon than someone who could be scared and in pain and for the family who may lose a loved one that night.

The message proceeded and the pastor talked about how kids are supposed to obey their parents no matter one.  It is rebelious for them to ask ‘why’ and for a parent to answer the question only brought on more rebellion and disobedience to God.  I snickered at his examples of rebellious kids smoking and drinking.  I think these people live in a very small world.  And when I shared this with Josh his reaction was, “Right, cuz those are listed as some of the 7 deadliest sins, aren’t they?”  😉

Then he rants on about how wives need to be obedient to their husbands, even if their husbands ask them to do something immoral.

I did give him credit that he continued on to the husbands (appearantly his wife complained that he always finishes with the wives) and his responsibility to keep his house in order and to love his wife.

And then there was the alter call and the baptism for those who “got saved” while their church members were out “door to door soul winning” the day before.

And as we left not one person said hello to me.

3 Comments

  1. Kacie said,

    Wow. Uggggh. I have such a hard time with that. …. with finding any good in it.

    • justaweeblether said,

      This place is like a cult. It is a sister church of another church in the area with seriously IS a cult. They would do and believe anything their pastor told them. The pastor laughed about how cute it was that kids would pray to him. It is really sad.

  2. Sunday « Just A Wee Blether said,

    […] : "http%3A%2F%2Fjustaweeblether.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F04%2F08%2Feaster-sunday%2F" } I attended THAT CHURCH again with my client.  Still no ‘hellos’ or anything.  I was dressed a little nicer, […]

Leave a Reply

