Just one of those days…take it with a grain of salt.

April 12, 2010 at 5:55 pm (Employment, Job Satisfaction) (, , )


Feeling a bit down today…

I had an interview last week.  Fourth in six weeks.  Didn’t get that one either.  I was pretty sure there was someone else they already had in mind for the position, but Josh got me psyched up to blow them away in my interview.  I was reminded of all the difficult work I did in Chicago as a case manager for homeless individuals.  It was TOUGH WORK!  And I did a great job at it.  I was respected.  Workers from outside agencies referred to me.

It reminded me yet again that my potential is not reached in this position.

I applied for this same position in another agency.  She sounded like she was going to hire me until at the end of the 2 hour interview she asked me about my future plans.  She didn’t want to spend the time training me if I wasn’t planning to be a lifer.

I don’t plan to be in this type of work forever.  I AM going for a degree in a completely different field (unless I want to try to work with a think tank making policy, which is one of my considerations).  But while I am here, I don’t want to feel stuck, but I do.  The pay is low.  The job is entry level.  The schedule is getting to me.  I cannot have weekends off.  I have only one day off at a time. 

I am just stinkin’ tired of putting all of that effort into interviewing.  I am tired of hearing about how difficult of a decision it was and how qualified I am for this or that position.

I was just encouraged to interview for the position that is now open since the other person got the job.  The schedule is more crazy.  On call all the time.  But I am pretty sure the person hiring is going to hire another favourite. 

I spend so much of my free time looking for jobs.  I feel like I have run out of places to look.

I think I could stick with the position I am in, despite the low pay, if I could have a normal 9-5, weekends off schedule.

Summer is coming.  Will it be another year that goes by and we say, “I hope we will be able to enjoy NEXT summer.”

Leave a Reply

