A Walk

April 2, 2011 at 11:32 am (A Little Fun, Fun Photos) ()


I take the shuttle to and from campuses on Tuesdays and Thursdays when I have class.  We have a Watertower campus, which is right downtown, and we have a Lakeshore campus which is in the north of Chicago, in Roger’s Park.  My class is in the Lakeshore campus.  I have been wanting to walk to my train after class, rather than taking the shuttle.  I have just been waiting for better weather.  I was going to use the lakefront path and the winter winds sweeping off the lake is not fun!  So there was finally a good day with decent weather and nothing I had to rush back for.  So I walked the 8.6 miles down the path.  I took detours for pictures and including the mile I walk from my station to the shuttle in the morning, I walked a total of 10 miles that day!  With a 15# backpack!

So enough words.  Here are the pics:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s a story with the above building:

They advertised $888/mo mortgage, parking and storage incl. No fine print.

This was when we still had hope of buying in Chicago.

We always liked this building because all of the units have a view of the lake.

We figured it would be really tight, but if we pinched pennies we could make that kind of mortg, plus association fees.

When we looked at it we found out parking was tangent and the ‘storage’ was a 3X3X3 locker.

THEN they told us the $888 was for the first year only. Then went up to $1295.

Oh, and “The value of your property will go up because they are planning another construction right in front of this one!”

*blink* *blink*

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

