Detox: Day 1

June 13, 2011 at 3:04 pm (Detox Diet, Healthcare) (, , , , )


Some of you know I have done a detox diet a couple of times. The first time was in Scotland. For some reason it seemed so much easier to live a healthier lifestyle there. I find it much harder here to make healthy choices on this side of the pond. Or maybe it is just a Midwest thing.

All other times I have done this diet Josh has given me a hard time of it. He refused to join me or even support me! He took great fun of waving ice cream and cookies in front of me (I have such a sweet tooth!). Lately he has been talking about eating healthy and getting in better shape. Partly because of the backpacking trip he has planned in a couple of weeks. So I took this opportunity to ask if he would join me this time in my detox, and he conceded!

Here is a very, very brief description of the diet.  They left out the ‘no meat’ part.  The first time is meant to be 28 days, then 14 days every year after that.  It is not mean to be a lifestyle diet, but it does bring about some lifestyle changes.  At least for a while.  🙂  I have been menu planning for it for a couple of weeks.  It is not easy to just come home and whip something up off the top of your head, unless you are already used to a vegan lifestyle.  In the past I was also more purposeful about using household products that are chemical-free, but lately we have been less on the ‘environmentally friendly’ side of things and more on the ‘whatever I can get cheapest’ side, and we have no extra money to change that up right now.  But I do buy Ecos detergent for our clothes, which is what you keep close to your body all the time so I feel this is one of the most important things for us.

 

 

 

For a variety of reasons, we officially started the diet for dinner last night.  We these yummy Ancho Lentil Tacos.   I usually make cilantro lime rice (brown basmati) and black beans as a filler, and it went great with this meal!  I also made sour cream from some homemade soy yoghurt I had in the fridge (strain it through a coffee filter for a while to thicken it up) and chopped up some tomato and lettuce.  I served the filling on corn tortillas, but they fell apart and Josh ended up using the filling as a dip with blue corn chips (technically shouldn’t have the chips because of the salt, but if I don’t allow some things I will lose my husband in this diet!).  I made my special guacamole to top it all off!

Leave a Reply

