Detox: Day 2

June 14, 2011 at 1:57 am (Detox Diet, Healthcare) (, , , , , )


I really only knew of one vegan person in the past.  He was a co-worker who basically only ate potato chips and fries.  THEN when we were in Scotland we met Brett.  Actually, I knew him before Scotland from an American Expats in the UK forum.  The first time I did this diet he gave me this recipe and I’ve used it ever since.  Even Josh likes it!  🙂  This is what we had for lunch.

Brett’s Vegan Sloppy Joes

Sautee 1 large onion and 2 medium green peppers in 3 TB oil

Add:  1 1/2 c boiling water

2 1/2 c tomato sauce

1-2 TB chili powder

good pinch pepper

1 tsp salt

3 TB soy sauce

4 TB American mustard

2-3 TB sugar (or honey, maple syrup, etc)

1 1/2 c dry TVP

I served it on some super-duper whole grain bread from Costco (this stuff was HEAVY), even though we’re not supposed to have wheat.  But it was WHOLE GRAIN!

My friend Lara has made this fruity couscous salad a couple of times at gatherings.  When I asked her for the recipe she told me she had one, but doesn’t really follow it.  I made the mistake of ‘sort of’ following the recipe.  It’s not like me.  I tend to go on my instincts.  The recipe was much more savory than I remember Lara’s dish being, so I knew I should not have made the quinoa (which I always substitute for couscous) with broth, but I did.  Which made it taste salty (though the broth was salt-free).  I ended up making extra quinoa just to blend in and reduce the salty flavor.  Lara told me she puts in some orange juice and cinnamon and whatever fruit is around.  I adapted it still more to add coconut milk yoghurt, dehydrated lime and orange peel, lemon juice, and agave.  I added whatever fruit I had in the house, which is a lot because, did I tell you?  I’m on this detox diet right now.  Fruit I added: mandarin orange, blackberry, raspberry, frozen mango, frozen peaches, dried coconut.

THIS is what I was looking forward to all day!  Years ago when Josh and I worked downtown I had my first portobello sandwich and was in love!  I tried to replicate it at home without great success.  It was messy!  But even before we started this diet, Josh had told me that he would like to grill portobellos rather than beef burgers, so I just had to fit this into our repertoire.  And we were not disappointed!  I used this recipe, minus the mayo and cheese (I even grilled red pepper!), but I used instructions from Cook’s Illustrated for the grilling.  Basically, seal the mushrooms in foil.  Grill for about 10-15 minutes, then take them out of the foil and grill for a couple of minutes until you have grill marks.  I will definitely do this again and again!  I served this on the same bread from lunch.

3 Comments

  1. Brett said,

    Hi Deliverance, glad you’re still breaking out the sloppy joes recipe. I still make it quite often and it never fails to please even the most hardcore meat-eater. Good luck on the detox!

    Brett

  2. Detox: Days 7&8 « Just A Wee Blether said,

    […] loved the portobello sandwich so much, we wanted to do it again.  Why is it that when men grill, they think they are giving we […]

Leave a Reply

