Detox: Day 4

June 16, 2011 at 12:59 pm (Detox Diet, Recipes) (, , )


We love, love, love bolognese, but my usual recipe has dairy, ground beef, pancetta, all the good stuff.  I actually make this once in a while for a change of pace.

As always, I altered my recipe to suit my needs and taste.  We cannot have regular semolina or wheat pasta.  I don’t like corn pasta, so I use brown rice pasta.  There certainly is a different texture and for a person (like me) who finds texture to be almost as important as taste, it is a little hard to get used to.  But the taste is not bad.  We had baby portobello mushrooms from Costco (yum!).  Rather than buying a jar of marinara, which usually has salt and sugar and hydrogenated stuff, I used a can of tomato puree and added Italian seasonings, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper, stuff I usually add to spaghetti sauce anyways.  I did not use the wine.  I’m not sure if we can have it for cooking since the alcohol cooks out anyways, but I knew if I opened a bottle of wine, Josh would want it with his dinner.  🙂

I was trying to do too many things at once and I let the mushrooms saute too long so they got very watery.  Rather than let the water boil out, greatly reducing my mushrooms, I added some TVP to thicken it up.  I also added some green bell pepper and zucchini (corgette).

My picture doesn’t look very yummy because I started eating it before I remembered to snap a shot.  You will have to believe me that this is delicious and worthy of even a non-detox diet.  🙂

Penne with Mushroom “Bolognese”

1 lb penne or other pasta

12 oz sliced mushrooms

2 lg cloves garlic

2 tsp olive oil

1 26oz jar marinara sauce

1/2 tsp crushed dried rosemary

2 Tb chopped fresh parsley

1/2 c dry white or red wine (optional)

Cook pasta as package directs.  Meanwhile, pulse mushrooms and garlic in food processor until finely chopped.  Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet.  Add mushrooms and garlic; saute over medium-high heat 3 minutes or until lightly browned.  Stir in wine (if using); boil 1 minute.  Stir in sauce and rosemary; bring to boil, reduce heat, and simmer 2 minutes to blend flavors.  Stir in parsley.  Spoon over pasta.

2 Comments

  1. jil said,

    I’m loving your detox posts. well all of them, but especially these food ones 🙂 we’re pretty much vegetarian at home so thanks for sharing these recipes. I can’t wait to try the lentil tacos!

    also, I’d love to see you again sometime soon!

    • justaweeblether said,

      Thanks, Jil! I spent a couple of weeks searching for recipes before the diet, but some of them are also oldies-but-goodies. 🙂

      I am going to try to make it up to WL next weekend. If you will be around it would be great to get together!

Leave a Reply

