Detox: Days 5 and 6

June 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm (Detox Diet) (, , , )


Yesterday and today were pretty boring as far as food goes.  We just had leftovers yesterday since I had to study all day for an exam.  There were lots of leftovers left to be eaten, as well.  Josh often does not have time for lunch and when I work I just bring something like and snacky for lunches.  I did find time yesterday to make maple almond butter cookies.  I have made these cookies before and love them!  And Josh loves them, too, which is even more amazing!!

The recipe calls for whole wheat flour, but since we can’t have wheat, I used spelt.  I know, spelt is technically a wheat product.  That is why I felt guilty and mixed it with potato flour (just because that is what I happened to have on hand) and ground almonds.  Bad idea!  They really didn’t turn out that great.  I think I will make another batch and just stick with the spelt.

Today will be leftovers again, just so we can try to get stuff eaten up rather than having to throw anything out.  I had a recipe in mind for today, but hopefully I can do it tomorrow.

I did make some guacamole with my avocados that have been ripe in the fridge for a couple of days now.  That will go with our lentil tacos tonight.  Since the cookies didn’t turn out yesterday, we are in need of some sweetness to satisfy our sweet tooths (sweet teeth?), so I picked up a TON of fruit and made the best fruit salad ever!  Cantaloup, red grapes, pineapple, strawberries, nectarines, mango (the orange ones like what I had in the Philippines, not the red/green ones), and flaked coconut.  All of it fresh (except the flaked coconut).

1 Comment

  1. Linda F. said,

    don’t feel guilty using spelt. It is an ancient wheat hybrid and is used to avoid whatever is in wheat that causes an allergy and bog down your immune system. It also has more protein, doesn’t have as many calories or as much gluten (another allergy issue). but in baking and bread making it doesn’t have as much elasticity for rising so you can’t knead the bread dough nearly as much and add less water.

Leave a Reply

