Detox: Days 7&8

June 19, 2011 at 8:12 pm (Detox Diet) (, , , , )


One of the great things about this diet is that I find new things and try new recipes that I probably would not have thought of when my choices are a bit more limited.  I have never tried any kind of corn soup, but lately I have been on a sweet corn kick and I thought this might be a good choice.

Latin Corn Soup

From Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health

2 c thinly sliced onions

2 tsp olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed

1 fresh chile, minced

2 tsp ground coriander

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp salt

2 c water or vegetable broth

1/4 c thinly sliced radishes

2 c peeled and diced sweet potatoes

1 c diced red bell peppers

1 15-oz can hominy, drained

1 14-oz can diced tomatoes

1 1/2 c fresh or frozen corn kernels

2 TB lime juice

2 TB chopped fresh cilantro

avocado cubes (optional)

1.  In a soup pot on medium-high heat, cook onions in oil for about 5 minutes, until just beginning to soften.  Add the garlic, chiles, coriander, oregano, and salt and stir constantly for a minute.  Stir in 1 c of the water and the radishes, sweet potatoes, and bell peppers.  Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.

2.  While the vegetables simmer, in a blender, puree the hominy with the remaining water and the coconut milk until smooth.  When the vegetables are tender, add the puree and the tomatoes and corn and bring back to a simmer, tirring occasionally.

3.  Stir in the lime juice and cilantro.  Top each serving with ripe avacado cubes, if you wish.

I will definitely add this to my soup list for winter!  Heck!  I will even make this in warm weather again!  It is not heavy so it doesn’t really make you that hot.  Or maybe it was refreshing to me because I am ALWAYS cold when the air conditioner is on!

I love cilantro, so I added tons extra.  You either love cilantro or you hate it, so leave it out if you don’t like it.  I also love lime, so I added a bit more.  I don’t like radishes, but I put them in anyways because there was a note in the book about being surprised about the flavor it adds.  I left all ingredients in (except the avocado, which I ONLY like in MY guacamole) and it was fabulous!  I did puree the hominy with the coconut milk, but I also suck my immersion blender into the whole pot of soup and blended it all up before I added the corn.  I did not puree it completely smooth.

I love the Moosewood Restaurant cookbooks.  I first had one in Scotland.  I picked it up at a charity shop, probably when I was on this same diet.  I had to leave that one behind, but I bought another one when we got here.  The one I got this recipe from in on loan from the library.

We loved the portobello sandwich so much, we wanted to do it again.  Why is it that when men grill, they think they are giving we ladies a break from cooking, while we are slaving away slicing and chopping in the kitchen, preparing what is about to be grilled, then doing the clean up afterwards?  And then when we ladies grill, it is all the MORE work, because not only are we grilling, but we are running in and out of the house trying to keep up with all of the slicing and chopping, etc?!

ANYWAYS, I also wanted to do a repeat of a recipe I had tried a while ago that Josh loved.  I am not a big asparagus fan, but I did enjoy this side dish.

Citrus Asparagus

1 lb asparagus

2 tsp olive oil

4 tsp fresh lemon juice

4 tsp orange juice

generous pinch of cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

Snap off the tough stem ends of the asparagus spears.  Rince the spears and cut them into 2- or 3-inch peices.  Steam the asparagus

 

in about an ince of water (or use a steamer basket) for about 7-10 monutes, or until just tender.

Meanwhile, whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, orange juice, cayenne, and salt and pepper.  As soon as the asparagus is ready, remove it to a serving bowl or plate, pour the dressing over it, and serve warm.

I believe I also got this recipe from a Moosewood Restaurant book.  I just made a copy of it and didn’t write where it was from.

Since I had the grill going, I cooked the asparagus for a few minutes, then threw them on the grill until they were starting to show hints of brown.

Leave a Reply

