Detox: Days 9-13

June 24, 2011 at 4:39 pm (Detox Diet) (, , , , , )


Oh, my GOODNESS!!  It has been such a whirlwind of a week and I have hardly had time to keep up!  Between work and class and housework and client vacation planning, and everything else…

I did cook some, but we also filled in the blanks with leftovers and salads.  Here is the salad dressing I have been using.  I still have some lettuce in the garden.  We like to put cukes and tomatoes of course, and sliced celery, diced red pepper and red onion, sprouts when we have them (can’t wait for my sprouter to come!!!), and we are allowed a tiny bit of feta.  On my salad I also mince some deli style pepperoncini slices.  NUM! NUM!

I must say, when I found this site earlier this week, I could not stop looking at it!!  I wished I had found it earlier so I could plan more meals with it. I do plan to try out several of these recipes even after the diet.  It will take me a while to acquire some of the more expensive and harder to find items.

I also made strawberry coconut ice cream from this recipe from their site.  Sweets are the one thing we have missed most on this diet and I didn’t really have a good solution for it.  This ice cream froze solid for me!  I had to take it out of the freezer about 30 minutes before I planned to have some.  But I think it hit the spot, even though it was not as rich and creamy as what we are used to.  It was definitely a great cool and refreshing alternative and very simple to make.

I don’t have a picture of the ice cream because I made the mistake of making it in the food processor and made a gigantic mess of it all.  Then it froze in my ice cream maker within about 5 minutes so I was all flustered about getting my mess cleaned up while wondering if I should put the whole ice cream maker in the freezer or try to scoop out the frozen mass into another container before I made an even bigger mess.

I remember what I made on Monday, because I actually remembered to write it down on my meal planner.  Every other day is kind of a blur.

Tabbouleh

I basically mix these ingredients in whatever quantities I so desire:

quinoa

fresh parsley

green onions

fresh mint

allspice

cinnamon

olive oil

lemon juice

salt

black pepper

cucumber

feta cheese

I usually eat the salad in a pita or on its own.  Josh was craving carbs so I gave in and wrapped the salad in a whole wheat wrap.

I also made Sunny Corn Muffins!

I followed the recipe (using spelt flour and safflower oil), but when I tasted the batter, it seemed a little flat.  I thought it needed a sweetener and maple syrup was the first thing that popped into my head.  I also added corn kernels and a dash of cayenne to the second half of the batch.  While these muffins were in the oven, it smelled like someone was cooking up a yummy southern breakfast!  Not that I know what a southern breakfast smells like, but again, that was the first thing that popped into my head.  🙂

Green and White Bean Salad

green beans

navy beans (soaked overnight or cooked)

pear or cherry tomatoes

feta cheese

1 TB lemon juice

1 TB Balsamic vinegar

1 TB olive oil

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 garlic clove, minced

1 TB chopped dill

I make this salad for my own lunches because Josh doesn’t care for it.  I like my green beans on the crunchy side so they add a nice bit of crunch to this salad.

(I think it was) Wednesday night I made this Black Bean and Quinoa with Raspberry Chipotle salad.  I love raspberry chipotle barbecue sauce and I knew I would love this salad.  I actually doubled the amount of raspberries just because I never feel like recipes with sauce make enough sauce.  It was very good, but lacked sweetness. I pulled out the maple syrup again and tipped some in.  Actually, it came out much faster than I expected, but it ended up being a perfect amount.

Leave a Reply

